This is a list of words I needed to look up when reading The Scarlet Letter.  Hawthorne uses a lot of hard and advanced words that I think could make it hard to understand parts of the novel if you don't look them up.

Similitude- a person or thing that is like, the match of, or the counterpart of another.

How it is used in the book: Basically, Hester is reminded of her shame and sin when ever she sees Pearl. Although Hester adores Pearl, there is also a feeling of guilt that Hester associates with Pearl.

Elfish- small and mischievous.

Pearl is constantly being described as elfish.  I think it's kind of funny how the word  that could be used as an insult is today also used when talking about jolly Christmas elves.


expostulation- kind and earnest protest

Ex: Ignoring my expostulations, you paid for my ice cream.

cabalistic- mystic;occult

countenance- appearance, especially the look or expression of the face

somnambulism- sleepwalking

I like this word and will probably try to use it the next time my sister sleepwalks.

sedulous- diligent in application or attention; persevering; assiduous

*All definitions are from www.dictionary.com*

Natalie Whise
11/27/2011 12:52:42 am

I agree that Hawthorne used a lot of words that we--in the 21st centry-- have never heard of or read up until now. I noticed that we have quite a few words that we both needed to look up in order to comprehend what he had written. It was helpful to me that you used examples on this blog, and I know you will appreciate it too if you ever read literature that uses these same types of words. All you'll have to do is go back to this word wall, see these words and definitions and you will already have an example to help you further grasp the meanings.

Reply
Natalie Whise
11/27/2011 12:54:21 am

I agree that Hawthorne used a lot of words that we--in the 21st century-- have never heard of or read until now. I noticed that we have quite a few words that we both needed to look up in order to comprehend what he had written. It was helpful to me that you used examples on this blog, and I know you will appreciate it too if you ever read literature that uses these same words that Hawthorne used. All you'll have to do is go back to this word wall, see these words and definitions and you will already have an example to help you further grasp the meanings.

Reply
Natalie Whise
11/27/2011 12:56:53 am

Note: The second comment is made with corrections of the first. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    November 2011

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed